Jürgen Klopp win first Premier League title as Liverpool end 30 years jinx

Jürgen Klopp win first Premier League title as Liverpool end 30 years jinx

Jürgen Klopp’s team have ended 30 years of hurt after Chelsea defeated title rivals Manchester City 2-1 at Stamford Bridge. Liverpool last won the English league championship in 1990.

Liverpool were crowned Premier League Champions on Thursday night after nearest challenger Manchester City lost 2-1 to Chelsea at Stamford Bridge.

Jürgen Klopp’s team now have an unassailable 23-point lead at the top of the table, with seven games to play. It is the earliest any team in Premier League history has ever sealed the title.


Liverpool last won the English championship in 1990 and it’s the 19th time the club has won the domestic title in their history.

Read Also: Liverpool Finally Crowned Premier League Champions For 2019/2020 Season

Kenny Dalglish, who was the last manager to lead the Anfield club to title glory 30 years ago, was effusive in his praise of the current incumbent: “Since Jürgen came in, he epitomizes everything the club stands for,” Dalglish said. “We’ll have a lot more days to look forward to as long as Jürgen’s there.”

Liverpool were in scintillating form on Wednesday night after they thrashed Crystal Palace 4-0 to put pressure on Manchester City ahead of their trip to face Chelsea on Thursday. The Liverpool result meant only victory would do for Pep Guardiola’s team, something they were unable to do after goals from Christian Pulisic and Willian saw off City and their title hopes.

Related posts

Leave a Reply